Precision Work “Made in Berlin”.

The proverbial Berlin Air fills the tyres of all BMW motorcycles.

Machining Shop





The foundation of every motorcycle is laid here - in the machining shop. Core engine elements, such as engine cases, cylinder heads, crankshafts and connecting rods, as well as frame elements, tanks and chassis components are produced here. Computer controlled machining centres, designed to offer maximum flexibility, process components with high precision. First class quality is ensured by highly qualified associates as well as state-of-the-art machining and measuring technologies.

Engine Assembly





The main features of the BMW engine assembly are three highly flexible assembly systems and technologically sophisticated test engineering like cold and drive test. Around 150 engine technicians working in two shifts build up to 450 high performance engines with two (Boxer), four and six cylinders from more than 600 different small parts and components every day. Technicians are supported by 21 automatic workstations. It takes around 90 minutes to assemble a Boxer engine and around 160 minutes to assemble an in-line 6-cylinder engine.

Paint shop





Five computer-controlled robots apply paint to several thousand motorcycle components a day. Components can have more than 70 different shapes and and are painted with water-based paint in more than 30 shades. The concept of paint applying facility allows the robots to paint components of different size and shape, processing them in a rather loose order. But in many cases, the skill and dexterity of experienced painters is still required. A steady hand is imperative when it comes to applying the traditional trim lines as well as tape applications to the tanks and side panels.

Assembly





Motorcycles are fixed on mounting hangers on 300 rotating hooks moving in a flexible conveyor system. In this system, the machines are automatically transported through a 500-meter-long assembly line. Every mounting hook rises automatically to the ergonomically optimal working height at almost 150 assembly stations. All order-related data as well as fastening torques and default settings are conveyed automatically to the particular assembly station. Depending on the model around 220 to 360 minutes elapse before the 2,000 parts and components are built into a complete and customer-ready BMW motorcycle.

Dispatch





By the time BMW motorcycles reach the end of the assembly line, associates have already prepared them in the finishing shop for the dispatch to customers all over the world. Recyclable and foldable steel packing is used for deliveries to the main European markets. For the transport to overseas markets the motorcycles are packed in solid containers made of wood and cardboard. Sustainability and logistical efficiency are considered, so the end products are transported from the Plant to the costumers by truck, train and cargo ship.

Brake Discs





In the car component production about 170 associates produce more than five million brake discs for cars of the BMW Group, ranging from BMW 1 Series to Rolls-Royce Phantom. More than six million brake discs are planned for 2011, approximately 24,000 a day. Besides regular brake discs, lightweight discs are produced with mixed construction methods.

Präzisionsarbeit „Made in Berlin".

Jedes BMW Motorrad hat Berliner Luft in den Reifen.

Mechanische Fertigung





In der mechanischen Fertigung wird der Grundstein für jedes Motorrad gelegt. Hier entstehen die Kernbauteile des Motors wie Motorgehäuse, Zylinderköpfe, Kurbel- wellen und Pleuel sowie Rahmen, Tanks und Fahr- werkskomponenten. Mittels auf größtmögliche Flexibilität ausgelegter computergesteuerter Bearbeitungszentren werden die Komponenten in hoher Präzision mechanisch bearbeitet. Durch den Einsatz hoch- qualifizierter Mitarbeiter sowie moderner Bearbeitungs- und Messmaschinen wird beste Qualität gewährleistet.

Motorenmontage





Drei hochflexible Montagesysteme und technologisch anspruchsvolle, integrierte Prüftechnik (wie z.B. Kalt- und Getriebetest) sind die zentralen Merkmale der BMW Motorenmontage. Rund 150 Motor-Spezialisten setzen hier im Zweischichtbetrieb aus über 600 verschiedenen Kleinteilen und Komponenten täglich bis zu 450 Hochleistungs- motoren mit zwei (Boxer), vier und sechs Zylindern zusammen. Dabei werden die Mitarbeiter von 21 Automatikstationen unterstützt. Die Montage eines Boxermotors nimmt etwa 90 Minuten, die des neuen Reihensechszylinders etwa 160 Minuten in Anspruch.

Lackiererei





Fünf computergesteuerte Roboter lackieren täglich mehrere tausend Motorradteile - in bis zu 70 verschiedenen Formen mit Wasserbasislacken in mehr als 30 Farbtönen. Die Lackieranlage ist so konzipiert, dass die Roboter in loser Reihenfolge Bauteile von unterschiedlicher Größe und Geometrie lackieren können. Bei vielen Aufgaben ist aber auch hier immer noch das Geschick erfahrener Lackierer gefragt. Eine ruhige Hand ist besonders beim Auftragen der traditionellen Zierlinien sowie Tape-Applikationen auf den Tanks und Seitenverkleidungen oberstes Gebot.

Montage





In einem flexiblen Fördersystem mit Montage-Gehängen sind die Motorräder an 300 schwenkbaren Haken aufgehängt. Daran durchlaufen sie scheinbar schwebend die rund 500 Meter lange Montagelinie. Die Förderhaken nehmen an jeder der 150 Montagestationen automatisch die ergonomisch optimale Arbeitshöhe ein. Alle auftragsbezogenen Daten sowie Anzugsmomente und Einstellwerte werden automatisch an die jeweilige Montagestation übertragen. Bis die rund 2.000 Teile und Komponenten zu einem fahrbereiten BMW Motorrad komplettiert sind, verstreichen je nach Modell zwischen 220 und 360 Minuten.

Versand





Noch im Finishbereich erfolgt die Vorbereitung der BMW Motorräder für die Reise auf den Weg zum Kunden. Für den Transport in die europäischen Hauptmärkte werden wiederverwendbare, klappbare Stahlverpackungen verwendet. Nach Übersee erfolgt der Transport in stabilen Transportbehältern aus Holz und Karton. Auf dem Weg vom Werk Berlin zum Kunden werden unter den Gesichtspunkten Nachhaltigkeit und logistischer Effizienz Lkw, Bahn oder Frachtschiff genutzt.

Bremsscheiben





In der PKW-Komponentenfertigung stellen circa 170 Mitarbeiter jährlich über fünf Millionen Bremsscheiben für Automobile der BMW Group her. Die Bandbreite reicht vom BMW 1er bis hin zum Rolls-Royce Phantom. Für das Jahr 2011 sind sogar über sechs Millionen geplant, das sind im Schnitt 24.000 Bremsscheiben pro Tag. Dies umfasst neben herkömmlichen Bremsscheiben auch Leichtbau-Scheiben in Mischbauweise.